top of page

If you are ready to create memories for a lifetime...
Meet Catalina


Letter for my future Host Family

Dear host family, my name is Catalina, I am 14 years old I come from Madrid, Spain. I live with my parents Santiago and Anne my two brothers Santiago (16 years old) and Matias (12 years old) and my little sister Matilde (6 years old). My father is owner of a wealth management company and my mother works for a French party clothing company.

I am so happy to travel to the USA, to learn English, discover your country, your culture and of course people like you. It is a big dream that I have since I was younger because I only have been in France, because my mom is from there, and Portugal because it is close to Spain and easy to go.

As I’ve said before my mom is French, and my dad is Spaniard, so I am bilingual in Spanish and French, I just need to learn English well =o) to travel all around the world with no comunication problems.

I like to do everything, I am not very fussy. I like all kind of food. I love to watch series and movies, my parents don´t let me see all but my favorites are outer banks, universe of MARVEL and of course Disney.

I prefer music in Spanish, like reguetón. One of my favorite singers is Bad bunny , but the English music is also good to me like Central cee or Drake. Maybe you don’t know Spanish music but it is great. I have no preferences for Frech music but I always listen to it at Christmas with my cousins and keep some of them for my Spotify list.

I study in a private French high school in Madrid (“Union Chrétienne de Saint Chaumond), a small school. I´m looking forward to know my new friends in USA. I study subjets such as science, maths, language, French, Spanish, Latin and English, but in English I have to improve, so that´s one of the reasons I want to go to the USA. I start school on September 1st and finish on June 30th.

I usually have school from Monday to Friday, and I wake up at 7 am, have breakfast with my mother and go to school at 8.00 am with my father, I finish most of days at 17h. Three times a week I have volleyball training, then I go to my house to study. When I finished studying, I like to take a shower, have dinner with my family and then watch a series before going to sleep.

If I have to talk about myself, I am friendly, honest, hard worker, not shy, funny and polite. I like to spend my time with my family, parents, brothers and sister, grandparents, cousins and of course with my friends. It is cool because a have a Spanish family and a French family. We live in Madrid so I can enjoy my Spanish family during the regular year and with my French family on holidays. We go every year to France at Easter and at Christmas and we go to a family summer house in Spain on July and August. It is close to the sea, so we can sail and swim. I live there with my French grandparents, aunts and cousins.

Madrid is a big city with about 3 and a half million people, where we can do a lot of things. There are a lot of cinemas, parks, museums (Prado, Thyssen, Reina Sofia) , zoo, places to practice indoor and outdoor sports and the Real Madrid Stadium (important for many people in Madrid). I usually travel by bus and underground when I move around Madrid.

I like sports. I play volleyball every Saturday, but I also like softball, horse riding, sailing and basketball. I also like riding my bike.

If you decide to choose me like a member of your family for one year it will be a pleasure to me to join your family and I´m looking forward to know you.

Thank you for your time and best wishes.

Catalina A. V.

Know more about Catalina


Bycicling, dance, skateboarding, walking, baseball, basketball, horse riding, music, shopping, volleyball.



Active, affectionate, calm, dedicated, easy to place, flexible, funny, helpful, outgoing, relaxed, adaptable, confident, eager to please, leader, productived, adventuresome, extroverted, friendly, happy, intellectual.

Why have you decided to be an exchange student?:

Because I always wanted to learn English well and know the US culture.

What are your positive and negative traits?

I am friendly, honest, hard worker, not shy, funny and polite.

What would you like to do while in the US?:

I would like to be with my family, make friends, play Volleyball, visit some cities in the country and of course, learn English.

What are your favorite foods? Do you have special dietary needs?

Pasta, pizza, hot dog, tortilla de patata.

Do you have any pets? Tell us about your pets:


What do you do with your friends?

We often gather at a friend's house, sometimes at mine or another friend's, where we talk, go for a walk, or play indoors. Many times, they stay overnight. Sometimes we go shopping or to the cinema.

What do you do with your family?

On the weekends, we often explore the downtown area, visiting museums or monuments and having lunch there. Occasionally, we venture outside my city for the day or weekend.

What are your favorite classes and why?

History because I love the world History, French because I love the Frech lenguage, Science because I am very interested in how the human body works

bottom of page