top of page

If you are ready to create memories for a lifetime...
Meet Lea


Letter for my future Host Family

Dear future host family, my name is Lea and I am fifteen years old. I love to travel and experience new cultures and places. That is why I want to do an exchange year to the United States. I have never been there before and want to experience the American lifestyle and five month in a new country by my own. I am a very open, cheerful and kind person. I am always looking forward to meet new people and learning new things. I am also very excited meeting my host family and living with them. I spend my free time with my friends or in the gym. I also like to read books and dancing. My friends are very important to me and I love hanging out with them.

My home in Germany is very loving and caring. I can always count on my parents.

I also have a big brother which just finished school and is now studying teaching position. We have a good relationship and I like spending time with him. I have a big family with my uncles and grandparents and I am happy for still having them. In general I like being around people but can also spend time by myself. In school my favorite subjects are English and History, but I also like politics. I go in 10th grade and really like going to school. In Germany we have 16 federal states, the one I live in is very populous.


My city’s population is about 583.109. We have a industrial culture with coal mining and nowadays there are exhibitions of all the work in the places from mining. We have a lot of famous football clubs and great churches to visit. My favorite season in my town is summer because there is a lot to do outdoor like going to the see, having a picnic or doing a bike ride. But also winter here is very beautiful with all its Christmas markets and nice decorations. In winter I like to bake with my family and friends or go to a Christmas market. In Florida I am looking forward to meet you and for great five months with new experiences and people.


Dear regards Lea.

Know more about Lea


Fitness, Cooking, Dance, Hiking/ walking, Writing/Reading, Snow sports, Shopping.


Adaptable, Adventuresome, Active, Independent, Affectionate, Funny, Helpful, Confident, Friendly, Creative, Happy, Easy to please, Flexible, Good listener, Organized.

Why have you decided to be an exchange student?:

I am always looking forward for new adventures and experiences. I want to meet new people and create great memories.

What are your positive and negative traits?

To my positive sides I count my helpfulness, my openness and my reliability, I am also a good listener. My negative traits are that I am impatient, sometimes naive and that I am distant when I do not feel well.

What would you like to do while in the US?:

Do typical American things and try out new foods and hobbies. I would also like to do some sightseeing.

What are your favorite foods? Do you have special dietary needs?

I love vegetables lasagne and pasta. My favorite fruits are strawberries and oranges. I also eat meat but I am not a huge meat eater.

Do you have any pets? Tell us about your pets:


What do you do with your friends?

When we meet like to cook or bake. In summer we go a lot outside and do a cycling tour or a picnic. We also play games or just chill at each other’s houses.


What do you do with your family?

With my family i sometimes go out for dinner. I like to spend my time with my family going on a Christmas market or doing hiking tour. Sometimes we also go to museums or a theatre.

What are your favorite classes and why?

My favorite classes are English and history. I love to talk English and improve my English. History is very interesting and I like to find out what happened in the past and discussing things or showing my opinion. In history we also debate.

bottom of page