top of page

If you are ready to create memories for a lifetime...
Meet Julian


Letter for my future Host Family

Dear host family,


my name is Julian Spilles and I´m 15 years old. My hobbies include playing table tennis and working out at the gym. I´ve also played soccer, tennis, swum and practiced taekwondo in the past. I have played soccer and tennis the longest, namely 6 years of soccer und 8 years of tennis and I stopped playing a few years ago to concentrate on table tennis where I currently play on very competitive level in Germany.

Furthermore, I really enjoy spending time with my family and friend as I´m very close to my family and have a good bond with them. At home we have several pets: birds and a small Havanese dog named Cathy, who always brings joy to the family and is fun to walk with. I don´t have too many close friends, but I have a good circle of real friends who I can rely on, of which most are from my class. Two of them also play table tennis with me at the Fritzdorf table tennis club, where we´re in the 1st district league. I also meet with them very often, for example to go mountain biking.


My interests include mathematics and economics, which I study at school. Math is a main subject, and I also study economic policy on voluntarily. I go to Sankt Joseph Grammar School Rheinbach and I am currently in the 10th grade. It´s a great school, and I do really well in math and economics, usually scoring between A and B. I enjoy these subjects so much that I´m considering a career in them. My oldest brother Daniel is my role model and he´s studying International business and aims to be an investment banker. He often talks about his studies and internships, which inspires me to follow a similar path. School-wise, I´ve been improving each year and currently have an average grade of 2.1, which is equivalent to a B+ overall.

I can easily say why I want to go to the US. I´m keen to experience American culture, see what living there is, and improve my English skills. Being part of a new family hopefully with other siblings would be fantastic and I´m super excited about making new friends, trying out new activities and seeing what the U.S. looks like. Particularly with regards to my English skills, I believe that talking with people who speak English every day will be a great way for me to improve and will help me more than just studying a textbook. Furthermore, being part of a new family there would be fantastic. I am very excited about the chance to possibly join your family.


With best regards, Julian

Know more about Julian


bicyclin, golf, tennis, swimming, soccer.


active, adaptable, friendly, happy, shy, quiet.

Why have you decided to be an exchange student?:

I want to get to know the American culture better.

What are your positive and negative traits?

I´m purposeful, hard-working, sympathetic, and sometimes shy.

What would you like to do while in the US?:

I would like to gain new experiences, friendships and I would like to improve my English. I also would like to get a good connection to my host family. It would be nice if I´ll have a (host) sister or a (host) brother in my family.

What are your favorite foods? Do you have special dietary needs?

Burger, french fries, chicken, pasta.

Do you have any pets? Tell us about your pets:

I have two rust-capped parrots and one dog. It´s a Havanese.

What do you do with your friends?

We go mountain biking and play table tennis.

What do you do with your family?

We travell, ride bicycles, hike and play board games, sometimes we ski.

What are your favorite classes and why?

My favorite class is math because calculating with numbers is fun.

bottom of page