top of page

If you are ready to create memories for a lifetime...
Meet Javier

Javier.jpg

Letter for my future Host Family

My name’s Javier, but everybody calls me Javi.

 

I’m 14 years old, and I’m from Madrid, Spain. I live in a little neighborhood called Las Tablas, which is in the north of Madrid. I live with my parents. I’m an only child but I would love to have siblings because I think that we can help each other. I love traveling with my family. For me, my family is everything because I believe they’re my constant support system, and they are not going to let me down. A friend may leave you but your family will forever stay with you.

 

I love doing sports and I couldn’t imagine life without them. I play a lot of sports but my favorite is basketball. Also, I play for my school team and I am a point guard. Another sport that I love is skiing. It’s a sport I’ve been doing since I was two years old. Aside from this, I also play soccer as any Spanish boy would. However, I am not really good at it. Jajaja.

 

I grew up having been exposed to diverse cultures. My mother is from Bogota, Colombia and my dad is from Madrid, Spain. My parents are caring. They look after me and they are very hardworking. They are the best parents in the world! Although I don’t have any siblings, I’m still happy to have my paternal grandfather in Spain and my maternal grandmother in Colombia. I don’t see my grandmother often but she’s also very kind. I often visit my grandfather. He lives in Madrid but he also spends the summer in his vacation house, which is in Malaga. I love him very much.

 

Last summer, I joined a summer camp in Pennsylvania. The whole experience was just amazing! I loved the culture and the people. I think Americans are naturally more sociable than the people in my country. I only stayed there for three weeks; but in that little time, I learned a lot of your culture. This is one of the reasons why I really want to study there. 

 

To my future family, I hope to see you soon and spend the whole academic year with you!

 

Thank you very much.

 

Javi.

Know more about Javier

HOBBIES AND INTERESTS:

Art/ paint/ draw, Bicycling, Water sports/swim, Theater, Board games, Music/ Concerts, Cooking, Dance, Hiking/ walking, Writing/Reading, Jogging/running, Photography, Snow sports, Volleyball, Football, Swimming.

PERSONALITY TRAITS:

Outgoing, Adaptable, Adventuresome, Active, Intellectual, Independent, Relaxed, Funny, Productive, Helpful, Confident, Friendly, Calm, Creative, Happy, Early to bed, Extroverted, Flexible, Good listener, Organized.

Why have you decided to be an exchange student?

Because I think is the best form to learn an other lenguage and discover a new culture.

What are your positive and negative traits?

My positive traits are: I´m outgoing, very athletic, polite and fun. My negative traits are: I'm so headstrong and when I see any injustices I get very. angry.

What would you like to do while in the US?:

Learn and improve the lenguage, practice sport and know the contry.

What are your favorite foods? Do you have special dietary needs?

My favorite food is pasta.

Do you have any pets? Tell us about your pets:

No.

What do you do with your friends?

We stay all the afternoon playing or talking about anything, we eat something or we go to have dinner.

What do you do with your family?

The weekend, we go to mess, we go eat with my grandfather, with my cousins or eat with the friends of my parents..

What are your favorite classes and why?

? My favorites are P.E and History, P.E because is sport and a I love it and History because I like learn about the past of my contry.

bottom of page