top of page

If you are ready to create memories for a lifetime...
Meet Marina


Letter for my future Host Family

Dear family,


It is a pleasure to write this letter. Thank you for this opportunity, I hope everyone in the family is doing well. If i have to describe myself first of all physically i am a brunette girl, not very tall. I am a very smiling girl. I am very active and productive, i love practicing sports here in Spain. I have practiced lots of sports such as tennis, athletics, and swimming. But when I went to France for three years I chose to practice some other sports. I continued with tennis and swimming but I also started skiing, and in school I played handball and football. But now at school I am part of the hiking club of my school called Montañeras. We go to a mountain near our home for a full day and we climb to the top.

I love going out for a run when I have time to clear out my mind. I always help at home. I always clean my bedroom and bathroom, when no one is at home or my mother needs i do the cooking, i really like cooking. I also, with my brothers, do the dishes after eating and we take out the dog for a walk.


My family, we are five first of all my father, Luis, he is a General in the Spanish Army, he is 55 years old, he was born the 26 of march of 1968, he has gone to so many countries because of work that i cannot count them anymore. He is so funny, he loves to make us happy, he always want to go to restaurants with us or to the cinema, and loves riding bike, he does lots of races during the year. My mother, Mar, is a prosecutor. She is 51 years old, she was born the 27 of august of 1972. She works a lot but she always find time to spend with me and my brother, but if i had to say what she loves the most i would say is going shopping with me and my sister, cooking and she also loves to read.

My brother, Luis, he is 19 and was born the same day as my mother and cousin in 2003. He is studying at a university in Germany, in Munich, he is studying engineering at the TUM, he loves to do mathematics and loves everything about cars or F1. My sister, Marta, was born the 10 of november of 2004, she is like my best friend i tell her everything. She is studying law but she is doing two years in Spain but then she has to go to France to Paris two years to the Sorbonne to finish because she is doing a spanish and french law career. She loves listening to music and going out with her friends, boyfriend but also making plans with me and my brother when we are all together.


My friends, my closest friends names are: Casilda, Carlota, Fatima, Gabriela, Alessandra and Pilar. I have known the since forever, we go to everything together. We love going out on fridays and saturdays. But what we like most is going out for lunch of staying up late having a girls night watching films and talk about everything in life. I tell them everything, they are my best friends. My school, it is called Mater Salvatoris i have been going there all my life, except for the three years i lived in france. There is where i learnt english since kindergarten.


Now I am studying at the advanced level there, but they also teach us french. They have lots of activities like summer camps, school trip that are like three or four per year, there is algo different clubs like basketball, gymnastics, athletics, a hiking club but since it is a catholic school we have mass once a week and there is like a club were you can go if you want were we talk about life with a nun if we need help called Congragación Mariana, and in this school you can also go to Ireland as an exchange student or on a summer camp to Ireland, France... depending of the year.


I live in a house with four floors. It is situated in Pozuelo de Alarcón. We have a garage, four bedrooms but my bedroom is two bedrooms but we took down the wall to make it bigger. We have 5 bathrooms, a dinning room, living room, one kitchen, and a back garden and a little front garden with a porch and at the top of the house a terrace. I have decided to be an exchange student in USA because i have always wanted to go study abroad by myself like my brothers and my parents wanted to give me the same opportunities as my brothers, and i have chose USA i think because it has always been a dream even though i know it is not like the film i have always been curious and most of my friends have already been to USA and they all

loved it. I think it would help me a lot and it is my last year at school so I want to have experiences in life and my mother has lots of friends whose daughters have done the same thing and loved it.


I think i can offer lot of things, i am a very positive girl who loves to help in anything i can, knows to listen is very patience and we must not forget if you like the spanish culture i can show lots of things from my country and culture not just about music that is amazing, but the cooking that is delicious, i think it would be so amazing.


And to end, I think I could learn a lot about English culture, which is something that has always called my attention.


Thank you very much for your generosity, and I hope we meet one day and have an excellent relationship. I am open to everything and cannot wait to meet you all! Lots of love, Marina Sanz.

Know more about Marina


Bicycling, Church group, Computers, Music/ Concerts, Cooking, Dance, Hiking/ walking, Writing/Reading, Jogging/running, Tennis, Snow sports, Shopping, Cheerleading.


Adaptable, Athletic, Quiet, Dedicated, Active, Intellectual, Tidy, Independent, Funny, Productive, Helpful, Energetic, Confident, Friendly, Creative, Happy, Eager to please, Easy to please, Flexible, Good listener, Moody, Organized, Resourceful, Leader.

Why have you decided to be an exchange student?:

Because i want to learn more english, have knowledge of different cultures, make more friends…

What are your positive and negative traits?

helpful, funny, empathetic… negative: moody, active, shy…

What would you like to do while in the US?:

I love to try new things, travel, get to know new people, my host family…

What are your favorite foods? Do you have special dietary needs?

Omelette, rice with eggs, sweets, potatoes, steak…

Do you have any pets? Tell us about your pets:

YES, My dog it is a white 8 years old dog very loving who loves to spend time with us.

What do you do with your friends?

We normally go have a drink and chill out, or go to some friends house or parties.

What do you do with your family?

I would normally go to the cinema, restaurants, we would often travel…

What are your favorite classes and why?

I would say chemistry and biology and of course physics education because it really calls my attention i thing it is very interesting and sometimes easy i thinks it is really entertaning and exciting.

bottom of page