top of page

If you are ready to create memories for a lifetime...
Meet Alejandra


Letter for my future Host Family

Dear host family:

My name is Alejandra and I am 16 years old. I live in a beautiful city called Madrid in Spain with my parents, Dulsé and Beatriz, my older brother Dulsé (17 years) and my little sister Marta (6 years).

We are an active and sociable family that loves group activities with family and friends. We are lucky that all my cousins live nearby so we can make a lot of plans together.

I study in a charter school near my house since I was two years old where I have met my best friends. I am a sociable girl who likes to practice sports, although skiing is my favorite. I also like to meet my friends to go shopping, listen to music or go to the movies.

On vacation we always go to Asturias, a beautiful and quiet region in the north of Spain where we enjoy the sea and nature and where we can also practice other sports that I love such as hiking and surfing.

I want to thank you for your generosity in welcoming a foreign student into your home. I assure you that I will do everything possible to make this a great experience for everyone.

Going to study to the United States is one of the most important decisions in my life. I think living away from home has to give me the opportunity to meet new people, to learn new customs, to be much more responsible and to mature as person.

This last year I tried to do my best to fulfill my dream of studing in the USA. My father was an exchange student and he told me many things about his experience in Iowa in 1990 and the American way of life that increseases, even more, my desire to know more of your country and culture.

I am so excited with the opportunity to know you better and to be a member of your family. I am prepared and eager to live and enjoy all the experiences that this adventure has in store for me!

I hope you had fun reading my letter and knowing a bit more about me and my dream.

I look forward to hearing from you! Best wishes.



Know more about Alejandra


Dance, football, snowsports, shopping, cooking.


Active, dedicated, organized,leader, opinionated, creative, athletic.

Why have you decided to be an exchange student?:

It is a great opportunity to get to know a country, its customs, its people and its language and to mature as a person.

What are your positive and negative traits?

Active, friendly, affectionate, willing / stubborn, angry.

What would you like to do while in the US?:

Travel, play sports, and learn the culture, language, and customs of the United States.

What are your favorite foods? Do you have special dietary needs?

Spanish omelette, soups and Italian and Mexican food.

Do you have any pets? Tell us about your pets:


What do you do with your friends?

I like to go shopping, to dinner, to the cinema or to watch a game. On special occasions I go to a concert.

What do you do with your family?

We like to go out to eat, meet my grandparents, uncles and cousins or friends. Doing outdoor activities, going on trips to Asturias, where we have a holiday home, skiing and sometimes to other countries.

What are your favorite classes and why?

Physical Education because I am a very active person and Philosophy because I like to debate around an idea.

bottom of page